Leave a comment

Hope For Life – Capital Punishment

State sanctioned death by lethal injection, electric chair, or any other form of capital punishment …
makes killers of us all.

It’s not that pedophiles and murders do not deserve to die, It’s that we can’t kill the killers without becoming killers ourselves.

We, the members of a civilized society, can’t have it both ways. We can’t declare life sacred and then begin making exceptions.

When we do, we lose the moral high ground. And we send our children the message, loud and clear, that sometimes the premeditated and deliberate taking of a life is OK.

It is NOT. In the case of self-defense, it might be justifiable, but the life you take will haunt you forever.

State sanctioned murder as a form of punishment, makes it easier for more to kill. Life has been cheapened; murder can be justified, rationalized. Two words: Trayvon Martin.

The more barbaric the crime, the more I find myself wanting an exemption. This is human, and if someone murdered someone I love, I would want them gone.

But we can’t fight barbarity with barbarity. We can’t meet atrocity with atrocity. It might feel good for the moment, but in the end we will lose. We will wake up one day and see that we have become the very thing we set out to eliminate.

I remind you of the case of Mr. Troy Anthony Davis. He was executed in the US state of Georgia for a crime he did not commit after 20 years in prison appealing his erroneous conviction.

His final words were, “I’d like to address the MacPhail family. Let you know, despite the situation you are in, I’m not the one who personally killed your son, your father, your brother. I am innocent.

The incident that happened that night is not my fault. I did not have a gun. All I can ask … is that you look deeper into this case so that you really can finally see the truth.

I ask my family and friends to continue to fight this fight.

For those about to take my life, God have mercy on your souls. And may God bless your souls.”

On September 21, 2011 we, as united states, killed Mr. Troy Anthony Davis. To add to this atrocity, racism was a large part of his unjust murder.

I would not like to be part of the MacPhail family, just as I do not like being an American when we murder a person … Either innocent or guilty.

An eye for an eye makes us all blind. And blind we are as long as we allow capital punishment on our soil.

One day, I hope to wake up knowing that my country does not sanction murder.
One day …

I hope.

Leave a Reply

