18 Comments

Benefits of Deactivating Your Facebook – Soon To Be Revealed

I have decided to spend more time writing and less time enjoying facebook.  I was allowing it to suck a lot of my time away and was not working as much as I want on other projects.  I am working on two screenplays and this blog, and just these are more important to me than surfing facebook.  Spending time with friends and family is most important!  

Deactivation is a temporary choice and once I am finished with other projects, I will most likely reactivate.  The one downside as far as my blog goes, is that I will not be able to post my articles here on facebook.  

I am asking you, my followers to help me out.  If you like what you read, pass it on please.  I thank you in advance for any assistance.  

My last update on facebook for now is:  

I love seeing all of you here on Facebook. I love sharing all my knowledge with you and learning more from you. I love seeing your pictures and hearing about your lives. I love hearing about world events here from all your posts. I love your support for all the work I do when I share it here.

I also love the two screenplays I am writing and I have been neglecting my blog which is yours to follow.

http://cougarblogger.com/

I am deactivating my account until I decide it is time to come back. Please keep in touch via email. ldyluk47@yahoo.com

Those of you who have my phone number, please use it.

Peace out my loves. Give each other shit while I get some fucking work done please. xx

18 comments on “Benefits of Deactivating Your Facebook – Soon To Be Revealed

    • Thank you Sir Timothy. I feel the freedom! It’s on me the amount of time I was spending there, but it is brilliant how easy the system of Facebook makes for wasting time. I take full responsibility by deactivating. Thank you for your support. You’re wonderful.

  1. I was concerned that the ‘benefits’ of deactivating FB would be less traffic to this blog. It makes no difference one way or the other. I am going off of one day so we will see but so far, posting blog articles on FB is no better than not posting there. Kinda like going to a 12 step program is no better than no help at all – and a 12 step group does more harm than good! Yep, got that in there.

    The benefits of no Facebook notifications, event and group requests? More time for the things that matter to me.

  2. YOU ROCK!

    I may follow suit. Your honest, fearless comments are like a breath of fresh air on FB which often smacks of a huge politically correct popularity contest among “mean girls” (& boys). Tip toeing around on medicated cotton balls & posting luke warm baby piss trying not to “bash AA” (hell forbid) or offend steppers & half-stepppers (those who claim to have left AA but don’t have any thing against it or however the phuck they want to describe it) sickens me.

    AA didnt tip toe thru my life. Those zombies bulldozed thru & over me. When I say exposure to AA almost cost me my life; it ain’t no figure of speech! When I first encountered your writing it was life affirming & validating for me. FRESH out of AA I really needed the words of REAL PEOPLE…communicating straight-no- chaser & bullshit-free. HONESTY w/ no flaky love-bombing or duplicity. I dig it. I decided a few days ago to re-focus on my book for survivors of molestation & rape. Thanks Laura! Much continued success w/ your screenplays and blog!

  3. YOU ROCK! I may follow suit.

    Your honest, fearless comments are like a breath of fresh air on FB which often smacks of a huge politically correct popularity contest among “mean girls” (& boys). Tip toeing around on medicated cotton balls & posting lukewarm baby piss trying not to “bash AA” (hell forbid) or offend steppers & half-steppers (those who claim to have left AA but don’t have any thing against it or however the phuck they want to describe it) sickens me.

    AA didn’t tip toe thru my life. Those zombies bulldozed thru & over me. When I say exposure to AA almost cost me my life; it ain’t no figure of speech! Then freaks have the nerve to try to post on my blog asking why the “anger”…why the “negativity”. I just delete them as soon as I read three words of there useless, unintelligent excreta and keep it moving. (I let the other bloggers debate with them…I’ve had enough and too much of those zombies sitting at the tables for almost 2 lost years!)

    When I first encountered your writing it was life affirming & validating for me. FRESH out of AA I really needed the words of REAL PEOPLE…communicating straight-no- chaser & bullshit-free. HONESTY w/ no flaky love-bombing or duplicity. I dig it. And I respect you for your unabashed honesty. THANK YOU!

    I decided a few days ago to re-focus on my book for survivors of molestation & rape. I now know that a section of Substance Use Disorder will have to be included in this book. I’d say that realization is one of the few positive and worthwhile things I have learned from my trip through the deep dark zombie ridden Valley of 12 Step HELL.

    Thanks Laura! Much continued success w/ your screenplays and blog!

    • Thank you so much! I know AA almost cost you your life and it needs to be bashed! People ask me often, what’s up with you and AA? Why do you attack it so? My question back to them, especially if they were in the program but no longer are is ‘Why aren’t YOU attacking it? How much time and pieces of your soul did it take from you? Are you still convinced you’re ‘powerless?’ How many times did you experience abuse of some kind? Why are you so afraid to speak the truth?’

      Also, when people ask me why I bash AA on Facebook and they’re obviously angry with me for doing it, I tell them that I do it because it DOES make them so angry. I do it for the very reason they are asking the question. I once had a friend of a friend (we were facebook friends) ask me at a dinner party. He was obviously angry and came at me like ‘how dare you.’ I looked him straight I the eye and said, ‘because of your very question and feelings behind it.’ I then explained to everyone very calmly that AA was a dangerous cult religion that has duped us for too long. He then proceeded to attack every post on Facebook. When he attacked over something between myself and a friend, and picked a fight with a long-time friend, I blocked him. He was a friend of my boyfriend. I forgot about it. A few days later, my boyfriend called to ask me what happened with John. (Apparently John had called him ranting and raving about how we can’t be friends in real life if we can’t be friends on Facebook, etc, etc … He even tried to get my boyfriend to break up with me.). My boyfriend knew nothing about my blocking john – cuz it was between me and john and although my boyfriend was friends with him before we met, I did not think it was that big of a deal (the Facebook block). Needless to say, we don’t hang out with john anymore. And this is someone who never has been to AA. People are so wrong and misled (and childish) about 12 step groups (uncle Ralph swears AA saved his life), it needs to be bashed.

      I have helped so many people to deprogram from the damaging brainwashing, I’ve lost count.

      It’s a lonely road, as you know, and your support means the world to me. One of my screenplays is about this very thing. It bashes AA big time. It’s not difficult to find stories to build on for the screenplay! It’s difficult to decide which ones to use and which ones to throw out. Basically it’s about a woman who joins AA and has a nightmare experience, barely getting out alive. Sound familiar? I take the audience through the innocent asking for help, thinking she’s safe and the violent mind-fuck unraveling of the protagonist. There is a lot of humor mixed in, ironic stabs at AA. The premise – can you espose the cult of AA and still save yourself from the damage caused youths a friend? (She’s bullied, oppressed, demeaned, raped and almost killed – all while her sponsor covers up for the crimes). She makes friends with one woman who does die and the group blames the dead woman. To us it’s a typical day in AA. Fortunately, I know someone who can get it in Charlie sheens hands, otherwise with half of Hollywood ‘in the rooms’ it would be damn near impossible to get it sold. The sooner I get it done, the better.

      When I saw the film The Master, I was so disappointed. I felt like they held back. It was supposedly about L. Ron Hubbard but it was watered down and wish washy. Hoffman was great, he always is, but the film was a big disappointment. And Hoffman being in NA didn’t help. Obviously. So sad.

      Thank you for your support again. If means so much to me.

    • Hey Laura… Sorry for the double posts. The first time I tried I got an error message so I edited a bit and reposted it. Please delete either… 😀

  4. Today’s benefit. It seems as if posting what I would have posted on FB on twitter is 1) faster and 2) more effective to bring people to my blog. I can then ignore it. There are no notifications and invites and rebuttals and insults … all that stuff that keeps one tied to FB. Nice!

  5. I am currently in SLAA which is Sex and Love Addiction Anonymous. It follows the same steps of AA. I am becoming convinced everyday that I feel it is somewhat helpful but at the same time I have my doubts. I am enjoying and learning alot from your blog. Thanks.

    • I am happy to hear you are learning about empowerment rather than just allowing steppers to brainwash you into believing their lies. Most steppers are not malicious, they are convinced they cannot trust their own thinking and cannot survive without the steps. Nothing could be further from the truth. They have been listening to the 12 step mantras for far too long.

      People use to believe planet earth was flat. People believe a lot of things without listening to their instincts and/or doing their research. We are lazy animals really, but when it comes to our physical and emotional health, we can be more vigilant. It appears as if you are interested in vigilance. Good for you. Keep coming back.

  6. Since deactivating Facebook, I have acquired more followers for this blog, more twitter followers, had more time for myself, my writing, my man, my friends, my dog, planning my travels, sleeping, meditating, and sex. There you have it.

  7. This may be completely unrelated to deactivating facebook – or not. I received a proposal of marriage (I accepted) on Tuesday night. It was so romantic and took place at the very yoga studio in which we met almost 3 years ago. I was completely surprised. I did think he was going to propose, I just thought he was going to do it on Valentines Day – but he is far more romantic than that.

    Now if on facebook, I would have posted all about it and included pictures … and then would have spent way too much time responding to all the comments. This way, I am sharing the news and pictures with those of my choosing, in my time, rather than sharing this wonderful event on social media. Being able to personally reach out to the people I want to know has been far more rewarding than posting about it on facebook. Fuck you Mark Zuckerberg. You don’t own me. : )

    I deactivate facebook – I receive proposal. Whether they are connected or not, the act of freeing myself from facebook and my new life will always be connected.

    My followers of this blog deserve to know. I am marrying the most wonderful man I have ever met and I am over the moon about it.

    • Congratulations Laura!

      I can feel the happiness and joy radiating from your words. How splendid. ENJOY the JOY! Thank you for adding me to the list of people you shared your news with. I’m honored and send endless waves of Loving Good Vibes to you and your new fiancé.

      LOVE LOVE LOVE

      If you don’t mind, I’m gonna share one of my new favorite songs with you… It’s not a new song; just new to me; therefore I play it over and over and over again like friggin Rainman…

      But I think you two will dig it?

      😀

      • Thank you my dear. My fiance is a lot like Rain Man – he repeats things and I’m like, “I’m living with fucking Rain Man.” Thank you for the love.

  8. I too have had a lot of facebook free time in recent days. I didn’t have to deactivate my account, I just deleted the majority of my AA friends which caused my newsfeed to become a ghost town. With all this free time… I can read your blog 😉

  9. I have activated and then deactivated a few times to check birthdays. Every time I deactivate, first I have to click on a reason. There is a list, from I don’t feel safe or it’s temporary, I’ll be back. Then at the top of this page are enlarged pictures of Facebook friends with the caption “Loresia (example) will miss you.” Seriously manipulative. They really do not want people to deactivate. Then I immediately get an email alerting me that I have deactivated my Facebook account under the subterfuge of if you did not do this, you can reactivate. Can you say manipulation? Yep.

Leave a Reply

